can’t get enough of golden globes fashion

Here we are again, one of my favorite times of the year….AWARDS SEASON!!! It combines several of my loves, fashion, films, and TV.  The People’s Choice Awards were on this past week, but I am not sure they count.  Yes, I am an awards show purist.   The Golden Globes kicked off the season in style, especially this year!  I can’t remember a time when I have LOVED this many gowns at one event.  There were several dapper men as well.

There were so many gems that it is hard to share just a few!

julianna-margulies-golden-globes-2014-red-carpet

 

image

Julianna Margulies – Andrew Gn – Black and gold ball gown.  The gold coral accents were just perfect to make it one of the most elegant gowns of the evening.  The look was completed with stunning chandelier earrings and a low chignon.  I would wear this dress in a heartbeat!

Sofia-Vergara-In-Zac-Posen-2014-Golden-Globe-Awards

image

Sofia Vergara – Zac Posen and Lorraine Schwartz – black ball gown with huge turquoise collar necklace.  The slightly dropped waist gave a wonderful spotlight moment to the necklace that I am dying to have.  Turquoise is one of my all time favorites, especially in formal settings.  Also, I loved that she worn her hair down.  This allowed the necklace to show even more than it would have if her hair was pulled back.

michelle

 

image

Michelle Dockery – Oscar De La Renta – what could be better for the Lady Mary than and this asymmetrical hemmed beauty.  The dramatic lipstick really completed the look with her super dark hair.  Oscar’s gown acted as its own jewelry with the beautiful gold accents.

Sandra-Bullock-Golden-Globes-2014

image

Sandra Bullock – Prabal Gurung – This color block gown was a little more playful than we are used to seeing on Sandra Bullock.  In my opinion this was one of the most wonderful gowns of the evening.  I especially love the pink peeking out from the underside of the skirt.  This small detail really finishes the gown.   Some people may not have loved this look, but I think she killed it!

golden-globes-2014-taylor-swift

 image

Taylor Swift – Carolina Herrera – While I am not always in love with TSwift’s choices in fashion, this gown was stunning.  The lipstick pink red gown with black bodice was both age appropriate and elegant.  Here softly styled hair and signature red lipstick really complimented soft waves of the fabric of the gown.

On to the gorgeous men…

Bradley-Cooper-Golden-Globes-2014

image

Bradley Cooper – Tom Ford – Between his blue eyes and this tux, I don’t know what could be better.

Matthew-McConaughey-Golden-Globes-2014

image

Matthew McConaughey – Dolce & Gabbana – Three words: Velvet tux jacket.  Velvet is one of my faves, especially when it is worn by this good-looking Texan.  It takes the tux to a new level of formal and I like it.

Finally, a shout out to my love of navy & black.  Oddly enough, dear Seth Myers of SNL was one showing off this perfect combination.

julie-bowen-600x450

image

I could go on and on, but I will stop and wait anxiously for the next gem of the award season – the SAG awards.

Leave a Reply

