project time

You know how you start a project and think, oh this will take like 5 hours or so, and then you actually work on the project and it takes you 3+ days?!?  No, just me?!  Well, this is exactly how the painting project went this past weekend.

It started off great.  Step 1 – turn up the jams, obviously.  Step 2 – move the furniture to the other side of the room.  Step 3 – tape the walls so that I don’t paint on the ceiling, wood work, etc.  (This took a long time but went off with out a hitch)

photo (15)

Step 4 – spread drop cloths and paint.  This was easier than expected.  I have to say I felt a bit like I was on TLC’s Trading Spaces (the home improvement show I grew up on) painting walls, except they are my walls not my friend or neighbor’s walls.  If only Paige Davis was here to help and cheer me on!  Ty Pennington (pre – Extreme Makeover Home Edition)was not here to be my carpenter….I mean a girl can dream.  The good news –  I only hit the ceiling with the roller once! After completing the painting,  I removed the tape and the walls were complete.

almost done

Here is where things got a little dicey.  I went to plug back in my internet and cable cords and nothing…whole kit and caboodle done-zo.  Those of you who know me, know that I am BEYOND obsessed with TV and have mine on almost all the time when I am home.  So, this system being down was not making me happy.  Internet is also a vital part of my life, too, especially when I needed to chat with the tech support people who no longer talk on the phone, but rather online chat with you to resolve you cable/internet problems.  So, long story short, they had to send out a tech to fix the problem.  Which they did, on a Sunday no less.  Much appreciated, trust me!  Well, during all of these issues, the furniture couldn’t be moved back into its rightful homes because it would block the repair work.  Enter, the work week.

Fast forward to Wednesday night after work.  My Dad came over and replaced the outlets and switch plates in the room and helped me move the furniture, he’s pretty handy like that.  So, the furniture is now in place.  I know what you’re thinking, now onto the end result picture…how about a really its still a work in progress picture…take a look.

rinished

missing items include: more bed pillows, hanging lamps, wall decor, even more bed pillows.

Paint color is Sherwin Williams, Biscuit

Leave a Reply

